MIDPOINT results at Connecting Cottbus

November 13, 2017

Four Feature Launch 2017 alumni projects pitched at COCO, and the MIDPOINT Scholarship Award was handed out.


Mnk Boy
Leave No Traces

MIDPOINT Feature Launch 2017
MIDPOINT Feature Launch 2018

Sibel Altinbas
Bas Broertjes
Vlado Bulajic
Mete Gümürhan
Danijel Hocevar
Casey Johnson
Antoneta Kastrati
Jan P. Matuszynski
Anastassia Oudovitchenko
Darko Sinko
Ann-Julie Vervaeke

Straight out of MIDPOINT Feature Launch 2017, 4 alumni projects pitched at Connecting Cottbus last week, as part of our partnership with the East West co-production market COCO. The selected projects under the MIDPOINT Selection 2017 at COCO are:

/ Inventory – writer/director Darko Sinko, producer Vlado Bulajic (Slovenia)
/ Mnk Boy – writer Sibel Altinbas, director Mete Gümürhan, producer Bas Broertjes (Netherlands/Turkey)
/ Waterwolf – writer/director Ann-Julie Vervaeke, producer Anastassia Oudovitchenko (Belgium)
/ Zana – writer/director Antoneta Kastrati, producer Casey Johnson (Kosovo)

Also part of this collaboration was the MIDPOINT Scholarship Award to a participant of the COCO Lab. The award was handed out by MIDPOINT Program Coordinator Kristyna Plhonova and Feature Launch Head of Studies Danijel Hocevar to:

/ Jan P. Matuszynski for the project 'Leave No Traces'

This grants Matuszynski access to Feature Launch 2018 with his 2nd feature film project after his successful debut 'The Last Family'. Congratulations!

Here is Screen Daily's coverage of the results.

All Connecting Cottbus 2017 results.